Oak Bluffs voters will decide spirited electoral contests


Oak Bluffs voters will go to the polls on Thursday, April 14, to make decisions after a lively election season.

Three newcomers and two incumbents will vie for two seats on the five-member board of selectmen.

Incumbents Duncan Ross, and Ron DiOrio will seek reelection. Looking to unseat them, against the backdrop of a difficult struggle with town finances, are businessman Mike Santoro, retired mortgage executive Walter Vail, and retired health care administrator Abraham Seiman.

Finance and advisory committee members Mike Perry, Mac Starks, and Hans von Steiger decided not to seek reelection, setting up a four-way race for three seats. Oak Bluffs and Edgartown wastewater department manager Joe Alosso, commercial fisherman William Alwardt, resident Maura McGroarty, and Mr. Seiman are running for a seat on the finance advisory committee.

There is a two-way race for one seat on the planning board. Incumbent Erik Albert, owner of the Oak Bluffs Inn, faces off against Kris Chvatal, chairman of the zoning board of appeals and a teacher at the Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School.

Wastewater commissioner and selectman Gail Barmakian will face off against businessman Mark Wallace for a seat on the wastewater commission.

Several candidates will run unopposed for elected positions.

Amy Billings seeks a seat on the parks commission. Chairman Nancy Phillips will not run for reelection.

John Tiernan is running for cemetery commissioner. Incumbent Ed Charter did not submit nomination papers.

Also running unopposed are several incumbent elected officials. School committee member Priscilla Sylvia, town clerk Deborah Ratcliffe, board of health commissioner Patricia Bergeron, and water district commissioner Ray Moreis are all unopposed.

Several races feature candidates who seek two elected positions. Mr. Seiman is running for a seat on both the board of selectmen and the finance and advisory committee. Chris Chvatal is chairman of the zoning board of appeals and seeks a seat on the planning board. Gail Barmakian is a selectman, and she is running for another term on the wastewater commission.