Edgartown voters make changes on library board


Edgartown voters decided four contested races and answered three ballot questions at the polls Thursday, April 14.

A total of 515 voters, or 17 percent of the town’s 3,107 registered voters turned out for election day. Most of the election attention focused on the Edgartown Library board.

In the contest for seat on the library board, three newcomers swept three incumbents out of office.

In the four-way race for two three-year terms on the library board, voters elected Robert C. Avakian (305 votes) and Deanna Ahearn-Laird (250 votes). Ann Tyra (218 votes) and chairman Patrica Haynes Rose (181 votes) failed to win reelection.

In a two-way race for a one-year term on the library board of trustees newcomer Julie Lively (285 votes) defeated incumbent Ellen Kaplan (176 votes).

There was a three-way race for two three-year terms on the Edgartown financial advisory committee. Incumbent vice-chairman Donna Lowell-Bettencourt (341 votes) and Leslie Baynes (303 votes) were elected to the committee. Bruce Stone received 156 votes.

Incumbents, selectman Margaret Serpa (402), school committee member Susan Mercier (419), board of health commissioner Kathie Case (434), assessor Alan Gowell (439), planning board member Michael McCourt (379), park commissioner Jane Varkonda (420), town meeting moderator Philip Jeff Norton, Jr. (456), wastewater commissioner James Carter (391), water commissioner Robert Burnham (411), and constable Jonathan Searle (438) faced no challenges.

Voters approved all three ballot questions. They said yes to $140,000 to resurface roads, 364-136; yes to $55,000 to build and repair sidewalks, bike paths and storm water drainage systems, 376-126; and yes to $98,000 to buy a backhoe for the highway department, 297 to 200.