Massachusetts presidential primary is March 6


The Massachusetts state presidential primary election is Tuesday, March 6.

There will be three parties with ballots this year, Democratic, Republican, and Green-Rainbow. Voters who are registered in one party are restricted from voting for another party’s candidate. But independent voters can vote in either party’s primary.

Seven candidates crowd the Republican presidential primary. Candidates on the Republican ballot include Mitt Romney, Newt Gingrich, Rick Santorum, and Ron Paul, who are engaged in a pitched battle for the nomination. The ballot also includes Rick Perry, Jon Huntsman, and Michelle Bachmann, who have dropped out of the race.

President Barack Obama is the lone Democratic candidate.

Kent Meslay, Jill Stein, and Harley Mikkelson are running in the Green-Rainbow primary.

A state committee man and a committee woman will be on the ballot as well as candidates for town committee. The state committee of each party includes one man and one woman from each of the 40 state senatorial districts in Massachusetts. They are elected at the presidential primary election for a four-year term.

Members of town committees represent their party at the local level.

Some ballots will have the option of voting for a group, i.e., the entire town committee slate. If the voter chooses this option, he or she must not choose an individual as well in that group or both votes will be nullified.