Sports highlights


Golf for scholarship fund

This Sunday, August 19, the Ken Williams Memorial Scholarship (KWMS) Fund will sponsor a golf tournament at Mink Meadows Golf Course in Vineyard Haven.

The event will benefit the KWMS fund, which offers college scholarships to students who attended high schools in Cambridge and on Martha’s Vineyard.

The KWMS Golf Tournament features a $10,000 Hole-in-One prize, as well as numerous gifts for participants. Golfers can register at Mink Meadows or online at Day-of registration will be at 7 am, and tee off is at 8. Advanced registration is available at Mink Meadows or online at Participation is $175, and the public is welcome to watch the tournament. For more information call 508-693-9036 or email

VFA Soccer

The Vineyard Football Association wrapped up the regular season on August 8. Monto Orthopedics clinched the title with a record of 9-1-0, good for 27 points and a six-point margin over second place Atlantic Football Club (AFC).

The top two sides were then split into separate groups to begin the second round. Monto, Coop de Ville, and Island Copper comprise Group A, while AFC, Sports Haven, and MV Celtic make up Group B. The teams will play each other twice before the knockout round commences on August 22.

In the second-round openers, played on August 9, Coop de Ville beat Monto, 1-0, and Sports Haven downed AFC, 2-0.

Tuesday night at Veterans Park, MV Celtic and AFC played to a 1-1 draw and Monto won by forfeit over an undermanned Island Copper.

In late action from Wednesday night, Coop played Copper and Sports Haven met Celtic.

Tonight at Veterans Park, AFC plays Sports Haven (5:30 pm) and Coop has a rematch with Monto (6:45 pm).

Holmes Hole sailing

The Holmes Hole Sailing Association continued its Thursday Evening series of handicap sailboat racing from Vineyard Haven Harbor with a 6 pm race on August 9.

Twenty-two boats, including four guest boats, posted at the start at red nun 6 outside of the Vineyard Haven breakwater. A triangle course was set with the fleet sailing to green can 23A at East Chop, then to red nun 4 at West Chop, and returning to red nun 6. The fleet reached and ran to East Chop, sailed a broad reach on the port tack to West Chop, and beat to windward to the finish.

1. Phil Hale, Wicked; 2. Roger Becker, Gloria; 3. Jerry Goodale, Stormalong; 4. Stuart Halpert, Providence; 5. Stephen Besse, Apres; 6. John and Lisa Stout, Isabella; 7. Bow Van Riper, Tyche; 8. Beck Colson, Silhouette; 9. Andy Berry, Isobar; 10. Mike Loberg, Masquerade.

The season continues with a night race tonight at 6 pm and a Sound Race on Sunday at 12 noon.

New members are actively encouraged, as are guest boats. Join on the web at or contact Kathy Logue at 508-693-7074.

Alina Wen Chappy Pong champ

Edgartown’s Alina Wen won the fourth annual Chappy Pong table tennis tourney on August 12 with a 3 to 1 match victory over Gary Block of Coventry, Rhode Island.

Wen won every game in four matches to reach the final. Semi-finalists were Albert Lau of Oak Bluffs and Warren Spector of Chilmark.

In the under 12-year-old division, Chase Connolly of Wilton, Connecticut took first place, winning 3-1 over sister Libby Connolly.

Tennis Exhibition

Some of the Island’s best tennis players will be playing in a pro-exhibition tennis match at Island Country Club Tennis Courts, Beach Road, Oak Bluffs, behind the restaurant Hooked.

East Chop Tennis Club pro Raj Maharaj and Rodney Ross of Island Country Club Tennis are teaming up as the Trinidad Terrors. They will be taking on “Big” Mike Halisky, pro at Island Youth Tennis and the number one 35 and over player in New England, and “Smooth” Fain Hackney. Renowned tennis player George Faye will be the guest umpire.

The match is Sunday, August 19, at 5 pm. There is no charge. Call 508-693-6574 for more information.

VYT students win tournament

Vineyard Youth Tennis hosted a USTA tournament last weekend and the home players more than rose to the occasion.

Kelly Klaren won the girls 12 & under division, and Lizzie Williamson came in second.

In the girls 14 & under division, Molly de Bettencourt won her flight, with Kat Roberts coming in second.

Kiric Hallahan was the boys 12 & under division champ. Off-Islander Nathan Storey took second.

Topping the boys 14 and under flights were Vineyarder Theo Guerin and Maxwell Curtain from Manchester, N.H.