Monstars win Oak Bluffs Summer League hoops title

The Monstars, Oak Bluffs Summer League champs for 2012.
Photo by Ralph Stewart

The Monstars, Oak Bluffs Summer League champs for 2012.

Matt Rivers, John Swan, and Terrell Johnson played ferocious two-way games and lifted the Monstars to a 45-42 win over the Swagflu, Friday night, in the Oak Bluffs Summer League basketball championship game at Niantic Park.

Somehow, a game that was just plain ugly in the first half evolved into a suspenseful contest, the ending of which was still in doubt with a minute left to play.

The Monstars held a consistent eight to twelve point advantage until the Swagflu closed the gap to 36-31 with a 7-1 run with 5:30 remaining in the game.

John Swan hit an outside jumper to make it 38-32. The flu quickly countered, and a Derek Mayo bucket made the score 38-36 with 2:09 left.

The Swagers got within one at 39-38 but Matt Rivers scored on a putback for a 41-38 Monstars lead with 45 seconds left.

The Flu started to foul and the Monstars made 4 of 6 from the line to lead 45-40 with 12 seconds left.

The Swagflu cut the lead to 45-42 with three ticks on clock. Terrell Johnson was fouled and missed the one and one, giving the Flu a shot at tying the game.

After a long inbounds pass, the three-point attempt sailed by the boards and the Monstars were champs.