All Island tennis championships a success at Farm Neck

Sue Kimball hits a forehand in the women's rough division final. — Photo by Ralph Stewart

Perfect weather last weekend helped make the 8th Annual All Island Tennis Championships benefiting Hospice of Martha’s Vineyard a rousing success, according to Mas Kimball, one of the tournament organizers. Hosted by Farm Neck, the tournament raised $14,000 from a $100 entry fee and the contributions of a dozen sponsors.

102 Players played in 13 divisions on the courts of Farm Neck and Vineyard Youth Tennis. Mr. Kimball said that he would like to thank the many volunteers that helped with the tournament with a special thanks to the Hospice volunteers and the tournament committee, Barbara Leonard, Drew Hendrickson, Mike Johns, Ron Forrester, and Todd Hollister.

In the top flight or rough division, Tim Penicaud won the men’s singles, the men’s doubles was won by Doug Cooper and Drew Hendrickson, Nina Bramhall and Liz Roberts took the women’s doubles, and David Deutsch and Catelyn Juliano won the mixed doubles.

The results

Main Draw Results:

JUNIOR Division

Co-Ed Doubles: Winners: Zak Danz / Theo Guerin 7-6; 4-6; 10-5

Finalists: Kat Roberts / Elizabeth Williamson

ROUGH Division

Men’s Singles : Winner: Tim Penicaud

Finalist: Jock Cooperrider

Men’s Doubles: Winners: Doug Cooper / Drew Hendrickson 6-3; 6-2

Finalist: Paul Adler / Tim Penicaud

Women’s Doubles: Winners: Nina Bramhall / Liz Roberts 6-2; 6-3

Finalists: Debbie Cooper / Sue Kimball

Mixed Doubles: Winners: David Deutsch / Catelyn Juliano 6-4; 6-3

Finalists: Diane Burwen / Don Green

TOUGH Division

Men’s Singles: Winner: Keith Cipollaro Round Robin

Finalist: John Bennett

Men’s Doubles: Winners: Jon Harris / Simeon Hutner 7-5; 0-6; 12-10

Finalists: Patrick Luib / Roland Marquez

Women’s Doubles Winners: Susan Blackerby / Mary Breslauer Round Robin

Finalists: Joanna Gleason / Karen Peck

Mixed Doubles: Winners: Mollee Debettencourt / Mike Marchand 6-1; 6-2

Finalists: Ken & Pam Monahan

SMOOTH Division

Men’s Singles: Winner: Vincent Chahley 6-2; 1-6; 11-9

Finalist: Jim Zappacosta

Men’s Doubles: Winners: Keith Cipollaro / Paul Cipollaro 4-6; 6-3; 10-4

Finalists: Patrick Cashin / Russell Hawkins

Women’s Doubles: Winners: Carlene Gatting / Lisa Reagan 6-3; 6-4

Finalist: Lili Cooperrider / Barbara Leonard

Mixed Doubles: Winners: Russell Hawkins / Suzanne Smore 6-3; 4-6; 10-8

Finalists: Chuck Scott / Anne Williamson

Consolation Draw Results:

JUNIOR Division

Co-Ed Doubles: Winners: Michael Cherchio / Spencer Pogue 6-2, 5-7, 6-1

Finalists: Molly Pogue / Paige Pogue

ROUGH Division

Men’s Doubles: Winners: Mas Kimball / Patrick Tzanis 6-1; 6-0

Finalists: Don Green / Larry Poland

Women’s Doubles: Winners: Diane Burwen / Catelyn Juliano 7-5; 7-5

Finalist: Penny Franklin / Laura Schroeder

Mixed Doubles: Winners: Sue Kimball / Arthur Stafford 6-1; 6-2

Finalists: Liz Roberts / John Roberts

TOUGH Division

Men’s Doubles: Winners: Tjark Aldeborogh / Robert Rippcondi 6-4; 6-2

Finalists: Askel / Kip Cooperrider

Mixed Doubles: Winners: Hope Callen / Tony Omer 7-5; 6-0

Finalists: Liz Peirce / Rob Peirce

SMOOTH Division

Men’s Singles: Winner: Lewis Downing 6-3; 7-5

Finalist: James Joyce

Men’s Doubles: Winners: Vincent Chahley / Jean Senat Fleury 7-5; 6-2

Finalists: Chuck Parrish / Sandy Ray

Women’s Doubles: Winners: Cana Courtney / Kat Roberts 6-4; 6-3

Finalists: Dorinda Forde / Susan Staudt

Mixed Doubles: Winners: Gene Erez / Kathy Lattanzi 6-1; 6-3

Finalists: Joanna Gleason / Jean Senat Fleury