Sports Highlights

Team Chaos, the Oak Bluffs Summer League hoops champs for 2013. — Photo by Mike Joyce

Team Chaos wins summer hoops crown

Team Chaos, comprised of Steve Handy, Kia Minor, Lamar Moreis, Shane Schofield, T.J. Van Gervan, John Abrams, Ben Ciciora, and Matt Birtwell used strong defense and balanced scoring to win the Oak Bluffs Summer League basketball title August 15 with a 63-45 win over Asil Cash’s Ocean Heights. Five players shot in double figures for Chaos.

Team Michigan, with Elijah Larue, Robert Arcudi, James Robinson, and Ricardo Anderson, won the “NCAA” (grades 7-10) championship. The final ended up as a 4 on 4 affair due to depleted rosters.

Wes Moseman wins Jabberwocky 5K

Wes Moseman of Vineyard Haven led the field of 361 runners and walkers Saturday at the FARM Institute in Katama to win the fifth annual Run for Jabberwocky 5K. Mr. Moseman won the race in 16:42, followed by Ben Bosworth of Dorchester (17:04); Ezra Milby of Nashua, N.H. (17:14); Luke Albertson of Rockville, Conn. (17:37), and Jeremy Alley-Tarter of Oak Bluffs (17:50). Rounding out the top 10 were William Berczuk, Greenwich, Conn., (18:17); Steven Eick, N.Y.C., (19:01); women’s winner Jess Wojnicki, Bethel, Conn., (19:09); Brian Depersis, Wyckoff, N.J., (19:27); and Michael Koenig, Vorheesville, N.Y., (19:31). Sarah Hayes from Bennington, Vermont, was the women’s runner-up, finishing 12th overall in 19:57. Cristina Wiley of Vineyard Haven had the best time for a Vineyard woman, placing 48th with a time of 23:24. Edgartonians Lil Province and Joanna Gossen were first and second among female walkers.

Other Vineyard runners in the top 50 were: 15. Reaan Steenkamp, V.H., 20:18; 27. Lars Schuster, Edg., 21:36; 33. David Mercaldo, V.H., 22:10; and 36. Rob Black, Edg., 22:32.

In addition to Jeremy Alley-Tarter (Men’s 13 to 19) and David Mercaldo (Men’s 25-29), four local runners placed first in their respective age groups: Erin Tiernan, O.B., women’s 30-34, 23:28, 51st overall; Spencer Pogue, Edg., boys 12 and under, 24:19, 68th; Jim Austin, V.H., men’s 70 plus, 24:29, 69th; and Mackenzie Condon, Edg., girls 12 and under, 24:39, 72nd.

For complete results, visit

Moffett Race is September 7

The 36th annual George Moffett race will be held on Saturday, September 7. The annual season-ending race gets underway at 11:20 am and is open to all mono-hull boats from 15 to 70 feet long. The course is usually about 20 miles long with shorter courses available for light air days. The popular event has grown over the years, with the fleet of 50 to 60 boats competing in two divisions to cut down on congestion at the start. The race commemorates the sailing life of George Moffett, one of the original founders of the Holmes Hole Sailing Association. The registration deadline is August 30. Entry forms and sailing instructions can be found on the club’s website: Call Kathy Logue at 508-693-7074 with any questions.

The Moffett race is unique in that all the boats, regardless of class or size, compete for one prize. Winning yachts in past years have ranged from state-of-the-art ocean racers and classic schooners to gaff-rigged day sailors. The after-race party is now held at the Vineyard Haven Yacht Club, which has graciously made its facilities available to the HHSA for the event.

Holmes Hole sailing series

In the Holmes Hole race held on Vineyard Sound last Sunday, light air caused the race committee to select a short course out to the RG buoy at the west end of Hedge Fence. Phil Hale sailed Wicked to a win in the A Division. Mo Flam in Penelope was second, followed by Jerry Goodale in Stormalong and Andy Berry in Isobar. Beck Colson skippered Silhouette to the B Division win, besting Isabella and Magic Time.

Eighteen boats came to the line for the August 15, Thursday night series race. Winds were 15 knots from the southwest. Alex Pardo sailed Go Time to the winning time, followed by Beck Colson in Silhouette and Mary Worrell in Second Wind. Rocinante III and At Last rounded out the top five.

VFA summer soccer

Oak Bluffs harbor bragging rights were on the line Wednesday night, August 21, at Veterans Park when group winners Sand Bar and Grill and Coop de Ville met in the Vineyard Football Association playoff final. As regular season champs, an SBG win would clinch the Gilbert-Hammond cup outright. If Coop wins, the teams will play again tonight (August 22) at 6 pm in a regular season champ vs. playoff champ cup final.

In the playoff semifinals Tuesday night, SBG defeated Sports Haven 2-0, while Coop de Ville beat Island Star, 3-0. Carlos scored twice and McCoy Livingston netted one for the Coop.