The Trustees of Reservations teams with Island schools


The Trustees of Reservations’ Claire Saltonstall Education Program (CSEP) offers Island schools free environmental education. CSEP was created in 1991 through an endowment from William and Jane Saltonstall, with startup capital from William and Nan Harris and Kib and Tess Bramhall. The program was established to make place-based education for Island school children (grades K-12). It gives students the opportunity to experience the properties owned by The Trustees while conducting field research that aligns with the school curriculum. The CSEP is headed by Molly Peach, The Trustees’ Islands educator, and Savannah Lawson, education assistant, according to a press statement released by The Trustees.

Last summer, CSEP formed a teacher curriculum committee of four teachers: Anna Cotton (MVRHS), Ellen Berube (Oak Bluffs School), Amy Reece (Charter School), and Dan Haggerty (Charter School). The Trustees offered a grant initiative to these four Island teachers to develop year-round programs, among them building homes for barn owls, navigation, soil science, and nature writing.