Yearly Archives: 2013

Day after day, the Patriot delivers the goods

The Falmouth based ferry, tiny compared with SSA vessels, is a reliable Island link, no matter the weather.

Martha’s Vineyard Tactical Response Team sharpens its skills

Offshore Kinetics recently conducted an advanced rifle course for nine police officers on the Island's regional team.

Wild Side: Five New Year’s resolutions to better appreciate the natural...

Rediscover Martha's Vineyard in 2014, you might be surprised what you find.

Soundings: Stop and think

All across the country, this shifting of costs from the private to the public sector is the Wal-Mart way.

Vineyarders top Whitinsville in boys hoops

Deshawn James racked up 29 points against the Crusaders, while M.V. had to overcome the loss of senior co-captain Kane Araujo, who was injured in the third quarter.

Up-Island school committee will revisit FY15 budget

Although the UIRSD's bylaws state that the district should certify its budget by the end of December, after voting to reject it last month the committee members agreed they should discuss the details further before their next regular meeting on January 27.

At Large: Just confess, absolution awaits

I have taken my place in the confessional.

Sports Highlights

In the second game of the day, the Vineyard had an easier time moving through the South Plymouth press defense, prevailing 39-36 in overtime.

Academic Honors

Honors Savanna Aiello, Tristen Araujo, Emma Baldino, Lauryn Bond, Pierre Bonneau, Robson Borges, Emma Bunker, Gabriella Carlos, Taber Caron, Justine Cassel, Mitchell Chaves, Cana Courtney, Alison Daigle, Zachary Danz, Douglas DeBettencourt, Lucas DeBettencourt, Lacey Dinning, Elizabeth Dourian, Chanaporn Eksiri, Lucy Enos, Juniper Ezanno, Elias Fhagen-Smith, Daniel Gaines, Jonas Grooters-Lukowitz, Alexandra Habekost, Emma Hall, Ethan Hall, Malcolm Hammond, Elinor Hanjian, Lena Hanschka, Kylie Hathaway, Kylie Hatt, Caroline Hermann, Colin Hickey, Erin Hill, Olivia Knight, Colbeck Leuenberger, Alexandra Look, Sophia McCarron, Mary McCarthy, Jermaine Mendez Jr.