Oak Bluffs town election promises little suspense

An open house will be held on Feb. 1 to go over revised concepts for a new town hall in Oak Bluffs. — MV Times

The Oak Bluffs town election on Thursday, April 14, will offer voters few choices — of the 13 offices up for grabs, only three will be contested.

The most high-profile race is for a seat on the planning board. Incumbent Erik Albert is being challenged for another five-year term by Abe Seiman and William Vrooman.

Mr. Seiman, a member of the Martha’s Vineyard Commission and the FinCom, is also challenging incumbent Lisa Reagan for a three-year stint on the school committee.

Cemetery commissioner Linda Wilson is being challenged by Christopher Gibson for another three-year term.

Among the uncontested races, Gail Barmakian will seek re-election for another three-year term on the board of selectmen; Jack Law will seek to hold the gavel as town moderator; James Butterick will stand for a three-year term on the Board of Health, and Priscilla Sylvia will ask voters to retain the seat on the Martha’s Vineyard Land Bank Commission she has held since the commission was created.

Also running unopposed: Richard Combra Jr. (Parks Commission); William Alwardt (Wastewater Commission); Duncan Ross (Water District moderator); Michael DeBettencourt (Water District Commission); Michael Taus, Herbert Kiehn and newcomer William Vrooman (Finance and Advisory committee); and David Olivera and Colleen Morris (constable).