Wells College Association of Alumnae and Alumni honor Rebecca Haag

Rebecca Haag is one of the recipients of the 2018 Wells College Association of Alumnae and Alumni (WCA) award. —Jeanna Shepard Photography

The Wells College Association of Alumnae and Alumni (WCA) has announced the 2018 recipients of the WCA Award, and Rebecca Haag ’74, of Chilmark, is one of two honorees. A press release states that the award recognizes Wells alumnae and alumni of high achievement in their professions and careers, in volunteer and community work, in service to their alma mater, or in some combination of those endeavors. Haag was cited for her service to the community and to the world at large. She will receive her award during a special convocation held during reunion weekend, Saturday, June 2, in Phipps Auditorium at Wells College in Aurora, N.Y.

Haag joined the board of directors of the AIDS Action Committee (AAC) of Massachusetts in 1996, and was appointed executive director in 2003. In 2006, the boards of the AAC and the AIDS Action Council appointed her executive director of both organizations. During her tenure, she spearheaded a coalition that led to the first coordinated national AIDS strategy for the U.S. More recently, she merged two organizations to form AIDS United, one of the most powerful voices on behalf of Americans people living with HIV and AIDS.

In May 2016, Haag was named executive director of Island Grown Initiative (IGI), a nonprofit organization focused on creating food equity and stability for Martha’s Vineyard residents. Although commonly viewed as a resort community, the island is one of the poorest counties in Massachusetts, with more than 11 percent of the year-round population living in poverty. Haag led a movement that initiated the first summer food service for Martha’s Vineyard children, and a mobile farmers market that sells produce at lower prices.

Her achievements have garnered other awards, including the John Russell Award for Public and Nonprofit Management, the Positive Leadership Award from the National Association of People Living with AIDS, and the Schweitzer Leadership Award.