West Tisbury concludes no-drama election


A total of 229 voters, or 11 percent of West Tisbury’s 2,270 voters, went to the polls last Thursday, April 15 in an election with no drama.

In an uncontested race, Cynthia E. Mitchell, former selectman and town treasurer, was elected to a three-year term on the board of selectmen with 172 votes. She fills the seat vacated by Dianne Powers, who decided not to seek reelection.

Also elected in uncontested races: F. Patrick Gregory, moderator (203 votes); David A. Merry, board of health (205); Richard Cohen, board of assessors (185 votes); Katherine Logue, treasurer (196 votes); Brent B. Taylor, tax collector (192 votes); Tara J. Whiting, town clerk (208 votes); Jeremiah Armstrong Brown, tree warden (197 votes); Virginia C. Jones (178 votes), Daniel Waters (200 votes), library trustee; Sharon Ann Estrella (158 votes), Jonathan Revere (130 votes), finance committee; Susan S. Silva, planning board (190 votes); Anna Alley, parks and recreation (31 write-in votes).