Tisbury holds ESF groundbreaking ceremony


Neither lack of sun nor soggy ground could dampen the spirits of Tisbury’s emergency services facility (ESF) building committee, the selectmen, and community members at a ground-breaking ceremony at the West Spring Street site on Sunday afternoon, April 25. From left, selectmen Jeff Kristal, Tristan Israel, Geoghan Coogan, and ESF building committee chairman Joe Tierney look on as Ambulance Coordinator Jeff Pratt, ESF building committee members Henry Stephenson and Scott Gertsmar, turn the first shovel-full of dirt. At right are committee members Janet Packer and Rob Doyle. Fire Chief John Schilling is partially visible behind Mr. Gertsmar.