RHS receives sportsmanship award


The Eastern Athletic Conference (EAC) chose Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School (MVRHS) to receive the 2010 Sportsmanship Award for District D.

The EAC is a high school sports conference consisting of teams from a mix of private and public schools in southeastern Massachusetts. MVRHS joined the EAC in 2009. Other member schools include Bishop Feehan High School, Bishop Stang High School, Coyle and Cassidy High School, and Somerset High School.

“The teams in the EAC nominated the Vineyard based on the way our teams, fans, and administration represent sportsmanship on and off the field,” MVRHS Athletic Director Mark McCarthy wrote in a letter announcing the award to school committee members this week.

Mr. McCarthy said he and student athletes Alicia Oliveria and Randall Jette would accept the sportsmanship award on the high school’s behalf at a ceremony scheduled at South Shore Vocational High School yesterday morning.