Martha’s Vineyard Public Schools announce administrative changes

Tisbury School principal Richard Smith takes the helm as the Oak Bluffs School principal on August 1. — Photo courtesy of Tisbury School

Tisbury School principal Richard Smith will become principal at Oak Bluffs School on August 1. Carlin Hart, the Oak Bluffs principal now, will return to his former position as assistant principal there.

At Tisbury School, assistant principal John Custer will move to the principal’s job. Mr. Custer, a graduate of Tisbury School, previously taught social studies there and was appointed assistant principal in 2008.

Martha’s Vineyard Public Schools superintendent James Weiss announced the new principals at Tisbury and Oak Bluffs School and other administrative changes for the 2011-2012 school year in a press release yesterday.

Mr. Weiss said in his press release that he met with the Island school principals at the end of the school year to review each one’s progress and discuss personnel and organizational changes that would be accomplished over the summer. His announcement this week was the result of that review.

He also announced assistant principal appointments at West Tisbury School and Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School.

Donna Lowell-Bettencourt has been appointed assistant principal at West Tisbury School. Over the past school year she served as interim principal while principal Michael Halt was deployed as a U.S. Marine Corps reservist to serve a tour of active duty in Afghanistan. Mr. Weiss explained in an earlier telephone conversation with The Times that the West Tisbury assistant principal’s job was posted in accordance with the educators’ professional associations’ contract agreements, along with an advisory that there was a strong in-house candidate for the post and for other assistant principal jobs to be filled in the school system.

At Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School, Andrew Berry and Matt Malowski were named assistant principals, after serving as interim assistant principals for the 2010-2011 school year.