Ninth Streetball Classic a slam dunk

— Photo by Tim Johnson

Seventy young athletes participated in this year’s Streetball Classic, a 3-0n-3 double elimination basketball tournament at Niantic Park, Oak Bluffs, an increase of 20 youngsters over last year’s Classic.

Finishing first in the 10-12 division was Brown University: Ennis Foster, Dylan Araujo, Doug DeBettencourt, Brandon Mercer, and Kendall Van Allen.

Second was Above the Influence: Samantha Hargy, Erin Hill, Whitney Schroeder, and Maya Houston.

First in the 13-14 division was Red Primetime Lacrosse: Mike Mussell, Brandon Dwane, Matt Stone, and Tim Roberts.

Second was Blue Primetime Lacrosse: Jack Yuen, Yannick Gonsalves, Alex GordonBeck and Justin Donahue.

In the 15-18 division, the blue ribbon went to Damen College: Trey Morant, Bryce Nealon, Andrew Gilbert, and Nick Diodate.

In second place was Above the Influence: Kyle Queiro, Cameron Queiro, and Bryce Joyner.

Proceeds from the Streetball Classic will go toward rebuilding the basketball court at Niantic Park,

Omar Daniel, Tournament Director, expects even more particpants next year, the tenth anniversary of the Classic.