Edgartown lauds Island police for marathon bomb response

— File photo by Ralph Stewart

Edgartown selectmen lauded the Martha’s Vineyard Tactical Response Team, which includes Edgartown police officers James Craig and Nicholas Phelps, for its work in Boston and Watertown, at their Monday meeting. The officers responded last week to help with the response to the Boston Marathon bombings.

Police chief Tony Bettencourt offered an emotional tribute to the Island police officers who assisted in the effort to capture the remaining suspect at large Friday.

“They spent the entire day in Watertown, searching buildings,” Chief Bettencourt said. “Attics, cars, basements, they did a great job. The residents there asked where they were from, and they were happy and appreciative when we told them we were from Martha’s Vineyard. The Island is lucky to have them.”

Selectmen agreed to write a letter of commendation for the entire Tactical Response Team.

Also at Monday’s meeting, selectmen agreed to write to Charlotte Inn owner Gerret Conover, who wrote selectmen last week criticizing town boards which granted entertainment permits to the Port Hunter restaurant. Mr. Conover complained of noise from patrons of the Main Street establishment.

“The Port Hunter is located in the business district,” selectmen wrote in their letter to Mr. Conover. “This board supports the operation of the Port Hunter, as this board has supported the operations of the Seafood Shanty and the Atlantic, which have been the subject of similar complaints.”

In the letter, selectmen said they will impose the same noise restrictions as they do for other restaurants and ask police to monitor the noise levels.

Selectmen said they have not received any other complaints about the restaurant and noted five letters of support, sent to selectmen this week, for live music at the restaurant.

The meeting began with a change of leadership. In the April 11 town election, Michael Donaroma was re-elected without opposition, after a year as the chairman. Monday, Margaret Serpa was elected chairman, with the unanimous support of Mr. Donaroma and selectman Art Smadbeck.

“I want to thank everyone for a great year,” Mr. Donaroma said. “I have the great honor and opportunity to pass it [the chairmanship] over to Margaret Serpa.”