Martha’s Vineyard Bridge Club Results


At the Edgartown Bridge Club at the American Legion on Monday, September 30, seven tables were in play. North-South winners were Al Shrive and Mac Whiteman, followed by Bea Phear and Helen Colvin in second, and Cheryl Neal and Dotti Arnold in third. East-West winners were Judy Cronig and Molly Mattoon, followed by Judy Maynes and Mary Ann Ranalli in second, and Pat Devaney and Barbara Pigott in third.

At the Martha’s Vineyard Bridge Club in Vineyard Haven on October 1, seven teams competed in a special team-of-four game for which ACBL gold points were available. The team finishing in first place included Rhonda Cohen, Eric Stricoff, David Donald, and Michel Riel. Second place went to the team that included Carol Whitmarsh, John O’Keefe, and Ency and Robert Fokos. Third place went to Barbara Besse, Bob Iadicicco, Ken Judson, and Foster Greene. Other teams earning master points were Charlie Harff, Gail Farrish, Bill Blakesley, and Cecily Greenaway; Cheryl Neal, Dotti Arnold, Diana Dozier, and Joan Perrine; Deirdre Ling, Ed Russell, Colleen Morris, and Art Spielvogel; and Bea Phear, Nancy Neil, Susan Sadler, and Sally Fitzgerald.

At the Island Bridge Club in West Tisbury on October 3, the annual club meeting and dinner was held prior to the bridge game. Seven and one-half tables were in play for a club championship. Placing first overall were Gail Farrish and Charlie Harff, followed by Mollie Whalen and Joe Ashcroft in second, Don Nelson and Lou Winkelman in third, Anita Persson and Foster Greene in fourth, and Carol Whitmarsh and John O’Keefe in fourth. Also placing in the North-South direction were Barbara Besse and Nancy Neil in third place.