Tisbury voters approve $1.3 million override, elect Hillary Conklin clerk

Tisbury voters went to the polls Tuesday. From left to right: Andrew Worlock, Melinda Loberg and Linda Conklin. — Photo by Nelson Sigelman

Tisbury voters went to the polls Tuesday and said yes to a $1,296,084 Proposition 2.5 general override. In the town’s only contested race, Hillary Conklin defeated Barbara Lampson 404 to 346 to fill the job of town clerk.

A total of 770 voters, or 25 percent of the town’s 3,207 registered voters, turned out to cast ballots. There were 61 absentee ballots.

Question one, a Proposition 2.5 request for $1,111,084 to support the town and school operating budgets and $185,000 to fund capital stabilization funds for the fire, ambulance, and department of public works passed by a vote of 367 to 349.

A non-binding resolution requesting Governor Patrick Deval to ask the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to shut down the Plymouth Nuclear Power Station passed 503 to 179.

Tuesday afternoon, Linda Conklin of Northampton, Ms. Conklin’ mother, stood on Spring Street and held a sign supporting her daughter’s candidacy. After the close of the polls at 8 pm, Ms. Conklin held her daughter’s hand.

“I’m ready to fall over,” Hillary Conklin, clerk-elect said. “I’m just overwhelmed.”

Ms. Conklin said she would greatly miss the woman she will replace, town clerk Marion Mudge, who will retire in seven days after 30 years as Tisbury town clerk.

“I have very mixed feelings,” Ms. Mudge said as she presided over her last town election. “It’s time. I have to do it. I don’t want to do it, but my body is telling me its definitely time for somebody else to take over the reins.”

Melinda Loberg, elected to the three-member board of selectman in an uncontested election, said the work lies ahead. “The campaign was not difficult but the work will be,” she said.

Ms. Loberg, who wears many committee hats, said she would resign from the Dukes County Commission.

There were no other contested races.

Results: Selectman, Melinda Loberg (598); board of assessors, Roy Cutrer Jr. (572); board of health, Jeffrey Pratt (578); board of public works, three-year term, George Balco (442), Leo P. DeSorcy (506); board of public works, one-year term, Jeff Kristal (437); finance and advisory committee (four for 3 year terms), Mary Ellen Larsen (540), Jynell Kristal (432), Larry Gomez (36 write-ins), Jeff Kristal (12 write-ins); library trustee (three for 3 year terms), Marilyn Wortman (593), Carolyn Henderson (50), Akeyah Nunes (17 write-ins); library trustees for one year, Nora Nevin (26 write-ins); Martha’s Vineyard Land Bank, John (Tony) Nevin (520); planning board, Cheryl Doble (536); school committee, Janet Packer (582); town moderator, Deborah Medders (608); and water commissioner, David Schwab (594).