More than 600 runners raced in Oak Bluffs 5K on a gorgeous Vineyard day

Samuel Jurek of Somerville bested all runners Sunday with a finish time of 16.57.

More than 600 racers took part in the Oak Bluffs 5K on Sunday morning. — Photo by Michael Cummo

On a sunny, windy Sunday morning, more than 600 runners converged on Oak Bluffs for the 26th annual Oak Bluffs Memorial Day 5K Road Race.

Somerville’s Samuel Jurek was the fastest, He finished the course with a time of 16:57, maintaining an impressive mile pace of 5:28.

Dylan Lunch, 16, from East Taunton, finished second with a time of 17:33. Third place finisher Michael Schroeder from West Tisbury was the fastest Islander. Steve Imbraico and Ryan Sawyer of Edgartown finished 12th and 13th respectively.

The first woman across the finish line was Kaelin Goulet, of New York City, who finished 31st with a time of 20:50.

Unofficially, the fundraiser for Hospice of Martha’s Vineyard raised approximately $14,000.

Longtime race organizer Roger Wey said this year’s race was the second largest ever. Only the inaugural race attracted more runners, he said. The race course began at Ocean Park and took participants up and around East Chop before dropping down to the finish line in front of the Wesley Hotel overlooking Oak Bluffs harbor.

Prior to the 5K the kids got a chance to burn some energy in the 1 mile fun run. Spencer Fletcher of Concord came in first with a time of 6:35. Thomas Nencka, of Bristol, Rhode Island was second with a time of 6:40 and Sachs Sachs of Southboro was third with a time of 7:00. The first Island runner to finish was eight-year-old Will Baliunas from Edgartown, who finished in sixth place. Ben Imbraico of Edgartown (8th) and Everett Dorr of Vineyard Haven (10th) round out the top ten.

The top ten finishers in the 5k are as follows: 1. Samuel Jurek (16:57); 2. Dylan Lynch (17:33); 3. Michael Schroeder (18:05); 4. Kevin Gesell (18:15); 5. Manuel Chinchilla (18:17); 6. Ken Gartner (18:24); 7. Brian Bourque (18:35); 8. James Kirk (18:49); 9. Erik Surface (19:01); 10. Harrison Backer (19:05)