County commission nomination deadlines loom

All seven county commissioner seats will be up for election in November. — File photo

Candidates for the Dukes County Commission have until May 3 to submit nomination papers for certification, with signatures due with the state elections division by May 25. In November, voters will fill all seven seats on the Dukes County Commission.

The elected, unpaid members of the county commission serve two-year terms and preside over a county government led by a paid county manager who has full control over the administration of county services.

The county commissioners exercise limited control over most county departments and a network of appointed committee chairmen, known as associate commissioners. The county commission is also responsible for appointing the Martha’s Vineyard member of the Steamship Authority and the members of the independent airport commission.

The seven members of the county commission whose terms expire the first Wednesday in January 2017 are: John Alley of West Tisbury, Leonard Jason of Chilmark, Tristan Israel of Tisbury, Leon Brathwaite of West Tisbury, David Holway of Edgartown, Christine Todd of Oak Bluffs, and Gretchen Underwood of Oak Bluffs.