Oak Bluffs voters say yes to school spending, Jason Balboni, and Greg Coogan

Jack Law returns as town moderator and wins cemetery commissioner position.

Newly minted selectman Jason Balboni (left) with Leah Irvin and Steve Amaral. – Barry Stringfellow

Updated 10:45 am

Jason Balboni became the new selectman in town, and 15-year incumbent Greg Coogan was re-elected to the board in Thursday’s Oak Bluffs town election. Balboni was the top vote-getter in the race, with 698. Coogan had 681 votes. Rich Michelson came in third in the two-seat race, with 356 votes.

“I’m very excited and very happy to have the people’s trust,” Balboni said. “I can’t wait to get started.”

“I’m always humbled,” Coogan said. “I’m looking to finish up some projects over the next three years, and I congratulate Jason.”

JoJo Lambert defeated Abe Seiman for the open two-year seat on the planning board — 637 votes to 218 votes.

Write-in candidate Kathryn Ann O. Shertzer won the two-year seat on the school committee with 503 votes. William Engler had 315 votes.

In the most closely contested race, Jack Law won the position of cemetery commissioner over Catherine Elizabeth Buck, 480 votes to 383 votes.

Voters approved both spending measures. The $275,000 Prop 2½ override was approved 620 to 329. The debt exclusion to pay the costs of a new roof and HVAC system at the Oak Bluffs School passed 693 to 239.

Of the registered voters in Oak Bluffs, 1,032 weighed in in the 2018 election — a turnout of 26 percent.

Uncontested races
Jack Law was re-elected as town moderator, William White was re-elected to the board of health, Richie Combra was elected tree warden, Antone Lima was re-elected park commissioner, Kristine O’Brien was elected to the School Committee, Bernadette Crossland, Raymond Mories Jr. and Walter Vail were elected to the Finance and Advisory Committee, Hans von Steiger was re-elected wastewater commissioner, and Nelson Oliver was re-elected water district commissioner. All will serve three year terms.

Mark Crossland was elected to a four-year term on the planning board, and Donalexander Goss was elected to a five-year seat on the board.