Mink Meadows crowns club champions


Patty Vanderwarker and Doug Dowling won the 2019 Mink Meadows club championships on Tuesday in Vineyard Haven.

The ladies championship was close all the way. With the field separated by just three strokes at the start of play on Tuesday, Wanderwarker outlasted Lisa Mathieu by one shot to win the title, shooting a final round 86 after each player posted a 94 on day one. Wanderwarker started the back nine by chipping in for par on the 10th hole and added birdies on 11 and 12 after nearly holing out for an eagle. Mathieu started slowly, but charged home with a 40 on the back nine.

In the men’s championship, Dowling defeated Len Vanderhoop by five strokes, 161-166. Dowling built a three-stroke lead with an opening round 77 and carded an 84 to win the title.

Steve Schoen won the ‘A’ Flight trophy in a playoff with Leon Bennett after both players carded net totals of 139 for the two days. Bennett finished as runner-up for the second consecutive year.