Holmes Holers to Chappy


Sunday’s HHSA Chappaquiddick Rendezvous attracted 16 boats to the starting line. The day was clear with winds of 5-10 knots blowing from the west northwest.The fleet sailed across the starting line at 10:00 am and made for can 27A at East Chop. Rounding the can the fleet began a downwind run across Cow Bay to red nun 4 near Cape Pogue. The wind diminished and the race committee shortened the course to finish at nun 4.First to complete the run was Steve Besse in Apres, followed by Roger Becker in Gloria. Then came (3) Andy Berry in Isobar, (4) Mike Loberg in Masquerade, (5) Irving Gates in King Kiwi, (6) Jerry Goodale in Stormalong, and (7) Don Rappaport in Juliani.The B division was led by Michael Hoff in Evelyn May with (2) Alan Wilson in High Tide, (3) David Lott in Avanti, (4) Rebecca Colson in Silhouette, (5) Dan Culkin in Magic Time, (6) Diane Hartmann in Triumph, (7) Mo Flam in Lumia and (8) Tom and Laurie Welch in Eastaway.Mike Loberg was first of the nine sailors to finish Thursday’s race. Second was Andy Berry with (3) Kathy Logue, (4) Dan Culkin, (5) Stephen Besse, (6) John and Lisa Stout, (7) Mo Flam (8) Stuart Halpert, and (9) David Lott.

Past Moffett Race Winners

1978 Joseph Low MOCKINGBIRD1979 Hank Scott SHADOW1980 Douglas Thacher ALIS PROPHS VOLAT1981 Lucia Moffett LUCIA1982 Don Grassie FORTUNE1983 Allen D. Slater Jr. CERCERELLE1984 George Delaney ARDENT1985 Richard Everett VERNON LANGILLE1986 Jonathan Churchill TAYGETA1987 Francis West Jr. ERDA1988 Primo Lombardi LIBERTY1989 James Lobdell MALABAR II1990 Richard Meyer TEACUP1991 J. Thomas Franklin WESTRAY1992 Frederick J.Crane CONSOLATION1993 Alan Wilson ALTIUS1994 William Underwood NAIAD1995 Harry Duane ANDIAMO II1996 Robert Blum MUSIC STREET1997 Jim Martin WHISPER1998 Harry Duane ANDIAMO II1999 Carl Beverly MOONDANCE2000 Dan Culkin MAGIC TIME2001 Alan Wilson CHANTEY2002 Douglas & Nancy Clark GNOME2003 Dan Eberle CILISTA2004 Mait Edey (skipper)Tom Graham (owner) SWALLOWS & AMAZONS2005 Damian McLaughlin ARION2006 Sandy Alexander FALCOR2007 Jeff Robinson PHRA LUANG2008 Jerry Goodale STORMALONG2009 Steve Besse APRES2010 tba