Sports Highlights

Interscholastic action

In interscholastic boys junior high basketball play, the West Tisbury Hawks were too tall and too much for the Edgartown Eagles at West Tisbury, Tuesday, 59-24. Tim Roberts had the game high for the Hawks with 16.

It was the second win of the season for Westiz as they had squeaked by Oak Bluffs earlier, 27-26. The winning goal was one for the Harlem Globe Trotters. With time running out and a half-dozen players scrambling to capture a loose ball, Tim Roberts snagged it and, still on his knees, tossed it over his left shoulder. Swish! Buzzer! WT had won the game, 27-26.

In other league action, the Tisbury boys defeated Edgartown, 49-37 and ran away from the Charter School. 50-22.

Volleyball League forming

Pete Lambos, Executive Director of the MV Boys & Girls Club, announces the formation of a volleyball league for teenagers, open to all boys and girls in 8th through 12th grades,

If numbers are large enough, separate boys and girls leagues will be formed. If not, a co-ed league will be.

Registration fee is $75, Register on Tuesday, December 21 from 5:00 to 6:00 pm at the B&G Club.

League games will begin in January.

Airport Tennis teams fly high

World Team Tennis debuted at the Vineyard Tennis Center Workout and Spa on Sunday. December 12. Ladies doubles, mens’ doubles and mixed doubles were played in a team format. Coach of the Sharks was Dave Larson. Connie McHugh coached Ray and the Quahogs.

Each division played a full set with no add scoring and let serves that landed in were playable by either receiving team player.

The Sharks: Sara Moore, Kelly Hess Cathy Lattanzi and Lili Cooperrider, won the ladies’ doubles, 6-3. Substitutions were permitted throughout the match and both coaches used all of their players. Coach McHugh rotated Susan Stevens, Doreen Rezendes, and Sue Peltier.

The Sharks’ Paul Ulyatt, James Prichard, and Lili Cooperrider also won at mens’ doubles. 6-1.

To complete the afternoon, two mixed doubles matches ran simultaneously with all team players moving in and out of both matches. The Sharks prevailed 24-11 and a rematch was scheduled for January 9.

Football Banquet Awards Presented

At Sunday’s Football Banquet the following awards were announced and presented:

Sportsmanship: James Bagnall

Most Improved: Dhonathan Lemos

William T.Hagerty Coaches Award: Randall Jette

Captains: Randall Jette, Chris Costello, Brian Montambault

Top Offensive player: Randall Jette

Top Defensive Player: Brian Montambault

Top Special Teams: Chris Costello

4 Years of Service: James Bagnall, Randall Jette, Chris Costello, Brian Montambault, Ken Handy

Repton (awarded to a junior for perseverance and overcoming adversity): Max Moreis

Chris Rebello Award: Jeremy Maciel

12th Man Award: Ramon Espino

EAC All Stars: Randall Jette, Brian Montambault, Chris Costello, Delmont Araujo

Iron Men: James Bagnall, Chris Costello, Ken Handy, Randall Jette, Ramon Espino, Denver Maciel, David Andrews, Nick Costello, Mike Cutrer, Andrew Freitas, Stuart Hersh, Jack O’Malley, Alec Tattersall, Harry West, Paul Robinson.

MV Football Com: Ken Handy

Dedication Award: Brian Montambault

Red Top Award: Danilo Olegario

Junior Vasity Most improved: Andrew Jacobs-Walsh

Sportsmanship: Alec Tattersall

Coaches Award: Nick Costello

Unsung Hero: Chris Mayhew

Rookie of the year: Kyle Stobie.