Pirates skate past Sharks to win Gibson Hockey League title

Back row from left: Pete Forrester, Roman Brabec, Troy Hobby, Mick Vukota, Jack D'Arcy, and John Fiorito Front row from left: Billy Jackson, Mike Capen, Mike Torcia, Joel Rebello, Mike Jackson, and Tim Bettencourt.

The Pirates edged the Sharks 3-2 in double overtime to win the best-of-three John Gibson Memorial Hockey League championship, two games to one, on March 16 at the Martha’s Vineyard Ice Arena. Jack D’Arcy netted the game-winning goal.

Each game in the series was decided by a 3-2 count. The Bucs took the opener in overtime, but the Sharks fought back to win game two.

With the win in the decisive game three, the Pirates claimed their second title in three years.

The Bucs skated to the finals by dispatching last year’s champs, the Blues, 3-1 and 6-1 in a first-round sweep, while the Sharks took two of three from the Shamrocks.