Keystoner Sam Kartsonis wins Amity Island 5K

Vineyard runner Brynn Allen-Rickstad is the women’s champ.

Men’s overall winner Sam Kartsonis, left, and women’s winner Brynn Allen-Rickstad. — Courtesy Granite State Race Services

Sam Kartsonis of Narberth, Pa., outpaced 408 runners to the finish as the men’s and overall winner in the Amity Island 5K, Sunday in Katama. Kartsonis was the only runner to cross the line in under 17 minutes, clocking in at 16:55. 

Brynn Allen-Rickstad of Vineyard Haven was the women’s champion, and placed 19th overall in 21:07.

The race, known from 1993 to 2017 as the Scoops 5K Tour of Edgartown, benefited the Vineyard Hurricanes Running Club, Martha’s Vineyard Community Services, the FARM Institute, the Martha’s Vineyard Figure Skating Club, and the Martha’s Vineyard Boys and Girls Club. In addition, Todd Christy of Chilmark Coffee set up his stand at the race, and will donate all money made during the event to the Boys and Girls Club.

The course started at the FARM Institute at Katama Farm, continued along Edgartown Bay Road, past South Beach and back along the bike path to the finish line at the FARM Institute.

Davis Rowan of Falmouth took second place overall in 17:02, with Ryan Sawyer of Edgartown placing third and finishing as the fastest Vineyard runner, with a time of 18:04. Mashpee’s Matthew Pigott (18:09) was fourth, with 5. Matthew Taylor, Pittsford, N.Y., 18:49; 6. Aaron Scheinfeld, New York, N.Y., 19:51; 7. Reaan Steenkamp, Vineyard Haven, 19:54; 8. Chris Cajolet, Vineyard Haven, 19:57; 9. Dave Jervis, Warwick, R.I., 20:02; and 10. Liam Kelso, Princeton Junction, N.J., 20:17, rounding out the overall top 10.

Following in Brynn Allen-Rickstad’s footsteps in the women’s top 10 were: 2. Bonnie Kingsbury, Edgartown, 22:02 (29th overall); 3. Katie Cronin, Edgartown, 22:05 (30th); 4. Annika Pfaff, Lincoln University, Pa., 22:11 (33rd); 5. Jenna Boyle, Naperville, Ill., 22:20 (34th); 6. Maia Donnelly, Edgartown, 22:21 (35th); 7. Alexandra Matthews, Southbury, Conn., 22:27 (39th); 8. Mikaela Prego, Edgartown, 22:31 (40th); 9. Karenna Laufer, Parkton, Md., 22:42 (42nd); and 10. Eliska Suryckova, Vineyard Haven, 22:43 (44th).

For complete results, visit