Chilmark elects Jonathan Mayhew


Chilmark voters elected Jonathan Mayhew, a fisherman, to a seat on the board of selectmen. Mr. Mayhew has served as selectman before. With 245 votes, Mr. Mayhew defeated William Rossi, who had 181 votes.

Mr. Mayhew replaces J. B. Riggs Parker, who chose not to run for reelection to a third term.

In uncontested races, voters elected: Clarissa M. Allen, board of assessors (430); Katherine L. Carroll, board of health (430); Richard C. Williams, finance committee (300), and Sarah Mayhew Shipway (26 write-in votes); J. Norman Freed, library trustee (315); Jane Slater, cemetery commissioner (353); Melanie D. Becker, treasurer (352); Everett H. Poole, moderator (380); Steve Spongberg, surveyor of wood, lumber and bark (14 write-in votes); Sam Feldman, fence viewer (27 write-in votes); Janet L. Weidner, planning board three-year term (321); John O. Flender, planning board five-year term (320); Daniel Bryant, constable (361); Keith Emin, tree warden (362); Clarissa M. Allen, site review committee (348).