Edgartown says yes to library and pond study, no to roundabout

Edgartown candidate Alex Rentumis received the dogged support of three nonvoters. — Photo by Ralph Stewart

Following their resounding support at the annual Edgartown town meeting Tuesday, April 10, for a plan to build a new library, voters last Thursday said yes by a margin of two-to-one to a Proposition 2.5 funding request to pay to demolish the old Edgartown School building and build a new library on the site. The vote was 480-206.

Voters agreed 453-233 to a request for $272,000 to fund a Massachusetts Estuaries Program study of Cape Poge Bay, Pocha Pond, Katama Bay, and Oyster Pond.

And on the hot multi-town issue of the proposed Roundabout, voters answered the non-binding ballot question, “Should a roundabout be built at the blinker intersection?,” with a big no. A total of 171 voters said yes and 508 no.

A total of 706 voters, or 22 percent of the town’s 3,162 registered voters, participated.

The election to fill three seats on the financial advisory committee featured a write-in campaign by incumbent Tom Durawa, who failed to file his nomination papers on time. Newcomer Alexander Rentumis (319) edged out Mr. Durawa (261). Incumbents Morton Fearey (435) and Barbara G. Schriber (432) were also elected.

In a three-way race for one seat on the school committee, Megan E. Anderson defeated Carlene J. Gatting and Alexander K. Rentumis.

There was a three-way race for two seats on the library board of trustees. Denise Searle (511) and Carl E. Watt (372) were the two top vote-getters. Alexander K. Rentumis received 188 votes.

James Kelleher was elected to the water commission with 153 write-in votes. Joel Graves was elected to the park commission with 59 write-in votes.

The results of the election of town officers follows: board of assessors, Laurence Mercier (587); board of health, Kevin Searle (605); selectman, Arthur Smadbeck (559); constable, Scott Ellis (601); vote for three, financial advisory committee: Morton Fearey (435), Barbara G. Schriber (432), Alexander K. Rentumis (319), write-in Tom Durawa (261); vote for two, library trustees (two-year term): Alexander K. Rentumis (188), Denise Searle (511), Carl E. Watt (372); library trustees (three-year term), Herbert L. Foster (496), Julie L. Lively (495); park commission, write-in Joel Graves (59); planning board, Alan Wilson (501); vote for one, school committee: Megan E. Anderson (415), Carlene J. Gatting (154), Alexander K. Rentumis (45); town clerk, Wanda M. Williams (635); tax collector, Melissa Kuehne (594); wastewater treatment commission, Timothy K. Connelly (477); water commission, write-in James Kelleher (153).