Lively races set for selectman, fincom, in Oak Bluffs


Updated 10:15 am, Monday, March 7

The Oak Bluffs election ballot will feature what promises to be a lively six-way race for two seats on the board of selectmen. And against a background of struggling town finances, the finance and advisory committee will undergo wholesale change.

Voters go to the polls on April 14.

Incumbents Duncan Ross, and Ron DiOrio will seek reelection to 3-year terms on the board of selectmen. Four challengers have turned in nomination papers. They are Roger Wey, a former seven-term selectman and director of the Oak Bluffs council on aging, businessman Mike Santoro, retired mortgage executive, and Island Affordable Housing Trust board member Walter Vail, and retired health care administrator Abraham Seiman.

Finance and advisory committee members Mike Perry, Mac Starks, and Hans von Steiger will not seek reelection, setting up a four-way race for three seats.

Oak Bluffs and Edgartown wastewater department manager Joe Alosso, commercial fisherman William Alwardt, resident Maura McGroarty, and Abraham Seiman will seek election to the finance advisory committee.

Oak Bluffs Inn owner Erik Albert seeks reelection to the planning board, where one seat is open. He will be challenged by Kris Chvatal, who is currently chairman of the zoning board of appeals.

Wastewater commissioner Gail Barmakian, who also serves as a selectman, seeks reelection to the wastewater commission. Businessman Mark Wallace will challenge for that seat.

Amy Billings seek a seat on the parks commission. Chairman Nancy Phillips will not run for reelection.

John Tiernan is running for cemetery commissioner. Incumbent Ed Charter did not submit nomination papers.

School committee member Priscilla Sylvia, town clerk Deborah Ratcliffe, board of health commissioner Patricia Bergeron, and water district commissioner Ray Moreis all seek reelection unopposed.

This week the town clerk was working to certify the signatures on nomination papers submitted by the candidates.

This article was changed from the original version to reflect a correction in the race for a planning board seat.