Moffett sailing race


In corrected time, Jamie Weisman sailed his 50-foot steel schooner, Perception, to victory in the 33rd sailing of the George Moffett Race, Saturday.

Jerry Goodale was second in his Pearson 31, Stormalong, followed by (3) Kathy Logue in Rocinante III, (4) John and Lisa Stout in Isabella, (5) Bruce Slater in Shy Fox, (6) Mo Flam in Lumia, (7) Nick Hammond in Andiamo II, (8) Scott DiBiaso in Juno, (9) Ged Delaney, a past winner, in Ardent, and (10) Irving Gates in King Kiwi.

Past winners of the Moffett, Dan Culkin in Magic Time and Sandy Alexander in Falcor, were 16th and 17th. Other past winners raced. Steve Besse finished 27th in Apres. Damian McLaughlin was 29th in Arion,

Also sailed: (11) Jeffery Honickman, (12) Phil Hale, (13) Brian Roberts, (14) Geoff Gibson, (15) Roger Becker, (18) Ed Cerrulo, (19) Robert Honey, (20) Tad Crawford, (21) Paul Young, (22) Bill Huyett, (23) Jim Pringle (24) Ellery Whitworth (25) Andy Berry, (26) Don Rappoport, (28) Mal Jones, (30) Mary Worrell, (31) Richard Washington, (32) David Lott, (33) Kevin Nagel, (34) Ian McColgin, (35) Matt Thomas, and (36) Woody Bowman.

Six boats did not finish.

Forty-three boats started under partly cloudy skies with fresh 10-20 knots of wind veering from north to north east.

On the race committee boat, Vigilant, were Honorary Race Chairman Hugh Schwarz, Principal Race Officer Brock Callen, Chief Race Scorer Charlie Felder and Eleanor Morad.

Line honors went to the Gannon and Benjamin built schooner, Juno, sailed by Scott DiBiaso, screaming around the square 18-mile course in 2:33:31.

After the race, the sailors were generously treated to chowder and refreshments at the Vineyard Haven Yacht Club under the direction of Sally Culkin.