Vineyard Squirts ice Nantucket


The Martha’s Vineyard Squirt I team skated to the Cape and Islands championship Sunday in Hyannis with a dramatic 2-1 overtime win over the Nantucket Jones.

Will Bruguiere scored on the power play early in the extra period to cap off an 18-4-2 season.

With the score tied 1-1 after regulation, the Vineyard came out buzzing in overtime, causing Nantucket to take two early penalties. During the ensuing 5 on 3 power play, Dylan Biggs moved up to play forward. He quickly got the puck on the right wing, moved over the blue line and dumped it into the corner. Will Bruguiere grabbed the puck, skated behind the net, and tucked the biscuit into the cage for the title-winning goal before the Nantucket netminder could even flinch.

The Vineyard opened the scoring in the first period. Richie Combra took a perfect feed from Jack Lionnette and buried a shot top shelf.

Vineyard goalie Oliver Lively was stellar between the pipes, especially in the second period, making several spectacular saves. M.V. carried the 1-0 lead deep into the third period. The Vineyard was tight in the final stanza. Nantucket dominated play and finally broke through to tie the game in the final minute of regulation. They would not score again.

Following the Vineyard win, as the teams were shaking hands, the Nantucket coach said, “Who did you have in net, Tuukka Rask?”

The Vineyard clinched a spot in the championship game with a 2-0 home win over sixth place Yarmouth-Dennis on March 2.

The Cape and Islands championship will be the Vineyard’s last as M.V. teams will move to a new league next season.

The Vineyard Squirt I team is composed of Oliver Lively, Cameron Geary, Will Bruguiere, Daniel Serpa, Jacob Silvia, John Coogan, Nicholas Rego, Dylan Biggs, Jack Lionnette, Eli Gundersen, Matthew Pouliot, Richard Combra and Noah Smith.