Bridge Results


At the Edgartown Bridge Club at Howes House on Monday, August 4,10 tables were in play in a stratified pair game, in which pairs are divided according to skill level in competing for ACBL master points. Section A is the top section, followed by Section B, and Section C. Players at all levels play against all the other players. Section A players can only win master points in section A, as their scores are compared to other A players. Section B players can win points in section B and A, as their scores are compared to B players as well as A players. Section C players may win points in all sections.

North-South winners in Section A were Gerry Averill and Diana Dozier, followed by Jim Kaplan and Bob Henry in second, and Eric Stricoff and Rhonda Cohen in third. Duncan Walton and Richard Eubanks finished fourth in Section A and first in section B. East-West winners were Andrew Jacknain and John O’Keefe, Section B players who took first place in Section A and Section B. Carol Flynn and Kevin Carey finished first in Section C, second in Section B, and second in Section A. Ann Brown and Audrey Egger, both A players, finished third East-West, and Judy Maynes and Barbara Kummel took second in Section C, 3rd in Section B, and fourth East-West in Section A.

At the Martha’s Vineyard Bridge Club on Tuesday, August 5, 20 pairs competed for a Club Championship. Finishing first overall were Barbara Besse and Sandy Lindheimer, followed by Sue Collinson and John O’Keefe in second, Barbara McLagan and Rich Alpert in third, Eric Stricoff and Rhonda Cohen in fourth, Gail Farrish and Warren Morse in fifth, and Bob Henry and Jim Kaplan in sixth. Also finishing were Audrey Egger and Miles Jaffe in seventh and Ann Brown and Lew Finkel in eighth.

At the Island Bridge Club in West Tisbury on Thursday August 7, eight tables were in play.  North-South winners were Deirdre Ling and Anita Persson, followed by Barbara Besse and Miles Jaffe in second, and Sandy and Michael Lindheimer in third place. East-West winners were Bob Henry and Barbara McLagan, followed by Audrey Egger and Jim Kaplan in second, and Sue Collinson and David Donald in third.

At the Bridge Club of Martha’s Vineyard on Saturday, August 9, nine tables were in play.  Finishing first North-South were Duncan Walton and Ann Brown, followed by Patsy McCornack and Joan Perrine in second, and Art Spielvogel and Calvin Bass in third. East-West winners were Don Nelson and Story Osborne, followed by Vicky Adelborg and Abe Seiman in second, and Iris Capabianco and Carol Butler in third.