Racing to success


To the Editor:

The Gay Head 10K Committee would like to thank everyone who helped to make the sixth annual Gay Head 10K, a Race for the Light, another success.

The race would not have been possible without our generous and supportive sponsors: Cronig’s Market, Bay State Wind, Patrick Ahearn Architect, Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, EBK Productions, Flanders Up-Island Real Estate, Martha’s Vineyard Savings Bank, Santander, Seaside Celebration Tents, Thunderbird Industries, Chilmark Chocolates, Martha’s Vineyard Insurance, McCarron, Murphy & Vukota, Tea Lane Associates, Tisbury Printers, Bowen’s Arrow, Cliffhangers, Coca Cola of Martha’s Vineyard, the Duck Inn, the Hob Knob Inn, Island Source, Larsen’s Fish Market, Laughing Bear, Nobnocket Boutique Inn, On the Cliffs, Orange Peel Bakery, the Outermost Inn, Phillips Hardware, Stop & Shop, Tisbury Market, the Vineyard Harbor Motel, and Vineyard Scripts.

Volunteers came from on and off-Island, and included Randy Bonnist, Suzanne Boyer and Alan Rugg, David Eisenberg, Donna Golaski and Leena, Morgan Hodgson and Bill Lake, Marshall Lee, MVRHS cross-country team, Deborah Medders and Ken Armstead, Dottie and Barry Sullivan, Jim Vercruysse, and anyone else we may have inadvertently overlooked.

Joe and Marylee Schroeder, as usual, were an invaluable source of help up to and during the race. We would also like to extend special thanks to the Aquinnah Police Department, and the police departments from all over the Island, especially Aquinnah Chief Randhi Belain and Sgt. Paul Manning, the Aquinnah Fire Department, Ben Retmier and his team of EMTs, to the Aquinnah department of public works director Jay Smalley, Frank Perez and Vincent, as well as to Keith Emin and the Chilmark highway department, Martha’s Vineyard Public Schools, and Hugh Weisman for all their assistance.

And, of course, many thanks to all the runners from near and far for coming out on what turned out to be a perfect day. Without your participation, this could never have happened.

Martha Vanderhoop, Beverly Wright, Layne Bazzy, Paula Eisenberg, Stefanie Hecht

Gay Head 10K Race committee