Julian Cyr named finalist for 2018 Tammy Baldwin Award


State Sen. Julian Cyr, D-Truro, is one of five legislators nationwide named as a finalist for the 2018 Tammy Baldwin Breakthrough Leadership Award by the Victory Institute, according to a press release.

The five legislators were chosen from a pool of 100 original nominees. The winner will be chosen at the annual Victory Institute conference on Dec. 5 through 8, in Washington, D.C.,

The award recognizes LGBTQ elected officials who have made a difference in the fight for equality and the LGBTQ community.

Tammy Baldwin has served as a junior Democratic senator for Wisconsin since 2013, and made history when she was elected as the first openly gay person to serve in the U.S. Senate.

“I am honored to be among an all-star roster of hardworking LGBTQ legislators nominated

for the Baldwin Breakthrough Award,” Cyr said in the press release. “Senator Tammy

Baldwin is a personal hero of mine; it’s humbling to be recognized nationally for the work

we are doing to look out for some of the most vulnerable residents of the commonwealth.”

According to the release, Cyr has championed multiple legislative changes in support of LGBTQ policy and civil rights. “I will continue to doggedly advance issues affecting LGBTQ people in

Massachusetts, and will stand up for all residents of Cape Cod, Martha’s Vineyard, and

Nantucket,” Cyr said in the release.

The other finalists for the 2018 Baldwin Award include: California State Assembly member Evan Low, California State Assembly member Todd Gloria, Colorado State Representative Leslie Herod, and Virginia Delegate Danica Roem.

Vote for Julian Cyr or any of the other five finalists on the Victory Institute website.