Heat repeat as RCBL champs

The 2010-11 RCBL champion Heat. Front row (l to r): Tim Scott, Matt Rivers, Matt Gebo. Back row (l to r): Sandy Fisher, Jason Dyer, Ryan Murtha, Lucas Brewer, Josh Thompson, Clark Agnew. — Photo by Ralph Stewart

For the second year in a row, the Heat claimed title to the RCBL championship trophy by winning the third and final playoff basketball game with the Bulls, Monday evening, at the Martha’s Vineyard Boys and Girls Club gym, 73-65.

The game started slowly, especially for the Bulls who managed to score only nine points in the first quarter. The Heat didn’t exactly set the place on fire but did manage to post 20 points in the opening frame.

“Consistency may be the hobgoblin of little minds,” as Emerson opined, but it served the Heat well as they would score 20 more points in the second period and yet another 20 in the third. That kind of consistency gave them a 60-49 lead after three quarters.

With Jason Dyer and Sandy Fisher sitting out the fourth quarter, benched by fouls, the Heat managed only 13 points in the final frame and the Bulls rallied, coming within two of tying the score, 64-62, five minutes into the period. But then they simply stopped scoring. Not that the Heat glowed red. Most (9) of their 13 fourth period points came from the foul line.

Matt Rivers had the game high 29 points. He also grabbed a bushel of rebounds. Clark Agnew pullled 15 off the boards for the Heat. Jason Dyer, the other Heat scoring in double figures, posted 17 points before fouling out.

Damon Mello with 24 and Brant Silvia with 14 were the twin column scorers for the Bulls.