Up-Island voters will decide regional school committee race


Voters in West Tisbury, Chilmark, and Aquinnah will elect five people to four-year terms on the Up-Island Regional School District committee.

The three candidates, one from each town, who receive the highest vote totals in Tuesday’s balloting will each represent his or her town. The two candidates who receive the next highest vote totals will be elected as at-large members regardless of where they live.

The race is complicated by the fact that no Chilmark resident is on the ballot. That race will need to be decided by write-in.

The person who receives the highest total of write-in votes will be considered the winner. If that person declines to serve the position is declared vacant and the selectmen and school committee meet to select someone.

Town clerks will not only need to decipher names, but they will need to track down a candidate’s town if voters fail to provide that critical information.

There are four candidates on the official ballot running for the district.

Roxanne Ackerman is running for reelection from Aquinnah. Daniel B. Cabot and Jeffrey S. “Skipper” Manter are running for reelection from West Tisbury. Also running from West Tisbury is Michael Marcus.