Two vie for Tisbury town clerk’s job in May 13 election


Tisbury voters will choose a new town clerk in the only contested race in the town election on May 13, based on papers filed by Tuesday’s 5 pm deadline. With plans to retire after three decades of municipal service, town clerk Marion Mudge did not seek reelection.

Hillary Conklin, administrative secretary to the Tisbury selectmen, and Barbara J. Lampson will compete to take Ms. Mudge’s place.

Only one candidate, Melinda Loberg, took out papers to run for the selectman’s seat held by two-term incumbent Jeff Kristal, who decided not to run again.

Instead, Mr. Kristal is seeking election as a new candidate for a one-year position on the board of public works. Incumbents David Ferraguzzi and Leo P. DeSorcy, and new candidate George Balco, are seeking three-year seats.

Jeffrey Pratt, the town’s former ambulance service director, is running as a new candidate for a three-year position on the board of health. Incumbent Robert Aldrin and new candidate Cheryl Doble are running for five-year seats on the planning board.  John (Tony) Nevin is running unopposed for a seat on the Land Bank commission.

Incumbents Larry Gomez, Mary Ellen Larsen, and Jynell Kristal are seeking reelection to three-year positions on the finance and advisory committee.

Town moderator Deborah Medders, assessor Roy Cutrer Jr., Tisbury School committee member Janet Packer, water commissioner David Schwab, , and three-year library trustee Marilyn Wortman are incumbents running unopposed.

Correction: An earlier version of this story incorrectly identified John (Tony) Nevin, a candidate for Land Bank commissioner, as an incumbent. Mr. Nevin is seeking to fill the seat now held by Tom Robinson.