Martha’s Vineyard Chamber of Commerce presents Service Awards


The Martha’s Vineyard Chamber of Commerce hosted an evening to honor 28 individuals who were nominated by the public for their outstanding customer service. According to a press release, the April 11 event, named Celebrate Service, kicked off the 2018 season on a high note, focusing on the exceptional customer service for which the Island is well-known. The event was held at the Harbor View Hotel — a co-sponsor of the night.

“Great customer service starts with people,” said Nancy Gardella, executive director of the Chamber of Commerce. “The people right here in our own community, who, day in and day out, take pride in their work, and take care with the people they serve. We wanted a way to celebrate them and all they bring to our Island, so we were delighted to create Celebrate Service as a way to spotlight these exemplary individuals.”

The honorees were as follows:


  • Melissa Abram of Stop & Shop Pharmacy
  • Tracy Leigh Adams of Leslie’s Pharmacy
  • Celena Addy of Rocco’s Pizza
  • M. Catharina O. Araujo of Reliable Market
  • Lana BenDavid of Martha’s Vineyard Community Services
  • Jim Cleary of Mansion House
  • Jay Deyette of Mansion House
  • Wesley Doyle of Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
  • Leslie Floyd of Point B Realty
  • Wendy Francis at the Registry of Motor Vehicles
  • Redon Gega (a.k.a. Red) of Sharky’s Cantina/Year Round Restaurant Group
  • Jessica Giambattista of East Chop Sleep Shop
  • Kate Hancock of Featherstone Center for the Arts
  • Scott Hershowitz of Mocha Mott’s
  • Mary Beth Hlivak Wesley of l’Etoile restaurant
  • Sarah Hughes of Martha’s Vineyard Insurance
  • Ana Ilievska of Rockland Trust
  • Omar Johnson of West Tisbury Board of Health
  • Tammy King of Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank
  • Patti Leighton of Martha’s Vineyard Savings Bank
  • Mila Lowe of Mila Lowe Photography
  • Justin Mercier of Harbor View Hotel
  • Karen Newhart of the Mailroom
  • Esther Reid-Radtke of the Newes from America Pub
  • John Rogers of Martha’s Vineyard Transit Authority (VTA)
  • Antoniya Sabeva of Lighthouse Taxi
  • Sharon Simonin of Martha’s Vineyard Savings Bank
  • John Tiernan of Dockside Inn


Celebrate Service will become an annual event. Martha’s Vineyard Chamber of Commerce congratulates all those who received an award.