The Times wins 13 awards in NENPA contest


The Martha’s Vineyard Times received four first-place awards at New England Newspaper & Press Association’s annual convention in Boston, including top honors for its daily newsletter, The Minute.

Photo editor Gabrielle Mannino received a first-place award for a news feature photo, Arts & Ideas was recognized for its front cover, and “This Was Then” writer Chris Baer won a first place for history reporting.

Overall, The Times won 13 awards at Saturday night’s ceremony at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel.

The Times received third place for general excellence. This follows being recognized at NENPA’s fall convention as New England’s Newspaper of the Year.

Mannino also won a second-place award for general news photo.

Editor George Brennan and Rich Saltzberg won second place for transportation reporting.

Sam Low was recognized with a second-place award in the human interest feature category for Arts & Ideas.

Writer Geoff Currier won a second place in the sports feature category, and a third place for environmental reporting.

The Times received second-place honors for the Living Section, third place for front page, and third place for news video.

The Vineyard Gazette also won many prestigious awards in its category.


  1. I’m curious why you didn’t include the number of awards for the Gazette, as you normally do? Is it because they didn’t win any? Strange but I always remember that a sentence or two about your rival at the bottom of the NENPA story.

    • HI! I think it was because when we posted the story (Saturday night) we did not yet know the result of the Gazette’s wins. I’ll take a look and add today.

  2. Turns out you guys don’t seem to want to mention “the other paper” so I called them to find out myself. They got 32 overall and 13 first place. Now I understand why you were ignoring me. Shame on you MV Times. If your gonna report the news, then report the news honestly.

    • Actually- neither of us typically report on the number of awards the other has won, if we mention them at all.

Comments are closed.